Dealing With Expectations for Your Children

I am so blessed to be sharing some of my blogging space with Lisa from The Cozy Nook.  She brings us very wise words today on dealing with expectations for your children.  Now, if only I had had these words of wisdom before the spilled milk episode….


Do you ever feel frustrated with your children?

If you are an honest mom, surely there are times when you do. You might feel angry and impatient and wonder “why in the world” your child is acting the way he is acting.

I have had a lot of instances recently where my mother’s heart aches and in turn, feels frustrated. I grow weary from seeing my children squabble. I grow weary when my strong-willed child “fights” me over one more thing. I grow weary when the house is cluttered everywhere due to my children’s messes. I grow weary when my toddler is in constant need.

Then I ask myself, “What am I doing wrong? Am I not training my children properly? Why does this seem to be so hard sometimes?”

I sensed the Lord reminding me of something the other day.

Foolishness is bound up in the heart of a child. (Prov. 22:15)

Our precious, dear children have foolishness bound up in their hearts. They are not naturally wise and mature. They are foolish. They need guidance, discipline, and love, just as the rest of the verse says…

The rod of correction will drive it far from him.

It is not our children’s duty to have it “all together”. We are the ones to correct and train them into spiritual and natural maturity. As my pastor says, “There is one commandment given to children – to obey and honor their parents”. We, parents, are the ones to lay down the rules and even moreso, the example for our children to follow. When our children’s issues start to provoke us, it is our character that comes to question.

When our expectations are wrong, our response will be wrong.

Instead, if we can expect that something will go wrong today and expect that our children will have sin and shortcomings, our days would be better.

We must remember that our children are sinners just as we are! We are grown adults and still do not have it “all together”. We will never be perfect this side of heaven.

May God give us the grace, wisdom, and vision we need to raise our children! It is surely not an easy task, but it is our duty! May we do it joyfully unto the Lord!


Lisa blogs at “The Cozy Nook“. She is a wife, mother of four, guardian for her niece, homeschooler, and homemaker who appreciates the quiet respites of life – snuggles with her children, time with hubby, God’s presence, meaningful relationships, piano music, reading, nature, cooking, and a cup of tea.

Leave a comment