Spiritual Pimples: Day 2

Spiritual Pimples: Day 2

spiritualpimples day12

Pimple Prevention: Wash Daily

There are days that I miss my shower. And sometimes I push the almost two full-day mark. And you know what? I get comfortable in what I’m wearing. I get comfortable in the extra time that not showering allows me. But guess what? I stink! Even though I may not be doing anything but working at home, just sitting in front of my computer blogging, doing graphic design, eBook editing, or whatever, I still develop a smell. Isn’t that odd? Well, if you don’t think so, I do. How can I stink if I didn’t even break a sweat?

Because our body has a natural excretion process, and part of that process is sweat. And just like sweating is natural, so is sinning. It is natural, because we are flesh! It will always be a struggle to keep our bodies and our mind under control.

We HAVE to make an effort to wash. We HAVE to not get comfortable in our sin, because even though we may not see the stains on those pajama bottoms we’ve worn for two days, trust me, they stink.

Our righteousness is as filthy rags. No matter how good you think you are, there are always going to be areas that need cleansed. We are called to die daily. It doesn’t matter if I have been washing my face for 40 years. If I stop washing it, it will accumulate daily grime. After a while, what could have been handled with a simple bar of soap and a washrag needs much more extreme measures to get clean.

How does one get clean? Repent. What does repent mean? To turn away from.

I was raised praying at an altar, but you don’t have to go to an altar to repent. You don’t have to go to church to repent. However, you DO have to confess your sins, ask for forgiveness, and then stop doing those things. That is repentance. Yes, you will struggle. Just get up, and keep going.

Others also find that having an accountability partner is handy. HOWEVER, I think we have all learned that there are very few people that we can trust in this life. If you choose to have an accountability partner, then choose wisely. I suggest an elder in the church. Most of our elders are filled with wisdom that no one is taking the time to tap into. This can be a fulfilling relationship all the way around.

Pray for wisdom to not make sinful choices. A little preventive maintenance, you might say.

I protest by your rejoicing which I have in Christ Jesus our Lord, I die daily. — 1 Corinthians 15:31 KJV


If you are not already following me on Facebook, click here to do that now.  My page is geared toward discussion and showing the world that if God can use an imperfect person like me, then there’s hope for you, too.

One thought on “Spiritual Pimples: Day 2

  1. I like how you put this, “It doesn’t matter if I have been washing my face for 40 years. If I stop washing it, it will accumulate daily grime. After a while, what could have been handled with a simple bar of soap and a washrag needs much more extreme measures to get clean.” It is so true, we must tend to our sin daily. Thank you for this reminder!

Leave a Reply

