Manners Matter


(Available for sale in my Etsy shop for only $2.50.  All proceeds benefit our prison ministry.)

When I go out in public and I find that I give better customer service TO the young “adult” behind the counter than she gives me, I have to wonder, “Didn’t their parents teach them any manners?” Even in my most rebellious stages, I had manners. After much thought, the only thing I can come up with is that it was obviously just too hard for the last two generations of parents to teach their children manners. (Of course, not all, but astoundingly it seems to be a majority of the general public.)

It is HARD to raise good kids. I don’t have two well-mannered and respectful children by accident. By the end of the day, I am exhausted, because every living moment is a teachable moment at our house. Our goal is to raise our children into functional adults. By this, we mean that we want them to know how to be a good friend, a good spouse, a good worker, a good coworker, a good listener, able to self-educate, and to be well-spoken, to rise above, and to persevere. We don’t teach “everyone’s a winner.” We teach that if you want to succeed, then you have to work hard. And even then you may fail. But try again. And again.

Yes, it is hard, but parents owe it to their child to do their best by them. Giving them a false sense of entitlement and not instilling any manners in them is setting them up for failure. They DON’T deserve to be spoiled and undisciplined. Why would a person do that to their child? The child deserves to be raised with boundaries and respect for themselves and others. They DESERVE the parents to be aware and accountable to their parenting duties.

I love this “Manners Matters” printable, because I think it could be used in a variety of places. Why just limit it to the school room? Put one in your office, in the break room of your job, in your local post office. EVERYONE should know that manners matter! Remember—treat others the way you want to be treated, not the way that they have treated you.

Manners Matter

You get what you get, and you don’t throw a fit.

Please and thank you.

Be considerate of others.

“May I?” not “Can I?”

Absolutely no whining!

No hitting, no lying, no spitting, no kicking.

Respect each other.

You are in control of your own actions.

Do what you are asked to do.

What are some manners that you insist on in your house?


Leave a Reply

