I Am People


I don’t like being around people. Sometimes. I don’t agree with people. Mostly. I am prone to criticize. Always.

I love my church. But my church isn’t perfect. It never will be. It can’t be. It’s full of people.
And I am a part of that people.

So I present you with “I Am People.”

(PDF Printable is available here.)

This was shared at the following lovely sites:

Little Natural Cottage

Passionate and Creative Homemaking


I love. I hate. I am strong. I am weak. I am crying. I am laughing. I am growing. I am a failure. I turn my eyes. I turn the other cheek. I just want to help. I just want to be left alone. I want everyone to be like me. I can’t stand myself. I want to be like Jesus. I don’t want any trials. I am sad. I am mad. I am hurt. I am forgiving. I am forgiven. I am fickle. I am imperfect. I am giving. I am selfish. I am people. What then? are we better than they? …As it is written, there is none righteous, no, not one: Romans 3: 9 – 10

4 thoughts on “I Am People

  1. Thank you so much for this! I am printing it. I am also a minister’s wife and this is exactly how I feel, thank you for putting it to words!

    I found you over at Passionate and Creative Homemaking. I am subscribing to your blog as I feel like I could really learn from you. My husband has only been pastoring for a year now, and it is getting difficult. Like you said, the church isn’t perfect. My husband is trying to uphold the Word of God and they reject it because it is not fluff as they were used to receiving. I am hurting for my husband and for the people of our church because they do not understand what they are rejecting – not just the Word of God, but God himself.

    Thank you for posting this!

    • I am so glad that we found each other! Your words ring so true about “fluff”. I can’t help but notice when I put some “common fluff” on my wall that I get a million (ok, maybe not a millions) likes. When I put something that is “not fluff”, the response is smaller. People love to follow after the fluff, but God chastens those that He loves. My goal is to be teachable and to really search my own heart during the chastening. I want to grow in God!

      • I actually shared one of my husband’s sermons on my blog this week. The sermon was on the permanence of marriage. I have never received so many hateful comments just based on the title of my post. Hardly anyone actually listened to his sermon. The ones who did were quite a bit nicer. However, it was kind of the same response by the people in our church on Sunday when he delivered. Every one was all bothered because how dare you “call out” divorced people. My husband and I were like, “How is calling out the sin of divorce any different than calling out any other sin.” We are all sinners. If you read the Bible your sins, no matter what they are, will be called out at some point. We need Christ to restore us, whether its divorce or lying. We cannot do it ourselves. Its so frustrating. I look forward to reading a lot more from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

