A List of Baking Essentials

I love to bake! Randomly! First thing in the morning? In the middle of the night? For no reason whatsoever? To scratch that itch? Let’s go! Preheat the oven to 350, raid the pantry, scour the internet to find what will sate this carb-craving beast.


I have a copy of this book, which motivates me to cook randomly. From 1965 and it is very old-school cooking. Yummy!

Then it happens. I’m out of flour or sugar or eggs. Or peanut butter. Or whatever I need to finish the recipe. So I have made myself a list of things I should keep on hand. This is by no means a hard-core baker’s list. But with this list of goodies, you can whip up hundreds of desserts. Every well stocked pantry/fridge should have these items. Hopefully, you don’t have to buy them all at once, because baking supplies can add up. I also had a thought that you could make a gift basket out of some of these non-fridge essentials for giving to a hostess. I would love a gift like this, because I love gifts I can actually use.


The same list, but with added notes and formatted for printing.

Feel free to post any comments, recipes, etc.

4 thoughts on “A List of Baking Essentials

    • I’ve got a few of those, too. You can always tell if they’re older women because it will call for “soda” instead of “baking soda” and a few other small things like that. One day I’m going to be a little gray-haired lady living for the Lord submitting my recipes. : )

Leave a Reply

