The Real Family Business

Almost four years ago, I prayed that God would make a way for me to be able to be a stay-at-home mom.  My desire was to be able to work in our church community and be available to my family.

He answered that prayer (in an unexpected way, of course), and I have been learning the ins and outs of stay-at-home motherhood.  We lived in an extremely rural part of town, and we did not have the gas money for daily involvement within our church community, so I was not able to fulfill that part of my heart’s desire.

Along the way, I began my online business of sewing cord covers, tea-stained hymn art, digital photography, and vintage items.  God has blessed my business to where it is now at the point where I have to make a decision between my business and my ministry.  My passion to minister wins out, hands down.  With my husband’s new job as prison chaplain and now that we have sold our house and our living in an RV in our new hometown, we are oh-so-nearly debt free that our finances no longer require me to provide an income.   Keep in mind that we are not materialistic people.  I really could care less about “stuff.”  I have clean running hot and cold water, air conditioning, a 40 foot RV (on Monday!), the health and love of my whole family, and extra money for Blue Bell Ice Cream.

We sacrificed so many things for a long time so we could keep our beautiful dream home.  And, for us, it just wasn’t worth it.  It will all pass away.  I want to enjoy this life with my children, while we have the opportunity.  And, more importantly, to minister while we have the opportunity.

I am taking a very active role in our new community and my second ministry-related passion is to be able to “muse” here with you, for you, and for myself.  To be able to share tutorials, recipes, thoughts, and ideas with you.

I learned so much from running my own business for a year, but my attention needs to be directed elsewhere.

God has blessed us, so that we may be about His

business–not mine.

Blessings!

Additional reading :  Why I Blog

And he said unto them, How is it that ye sought me? wist ye not that I must be about my Father’s business? — Luke 2:49

2 thoughts on “The Real Family Business

  1. Pingback: Why I Blog « Musings of a Minister's Wife

Leave a Reply

