Modern Modesty – New Fabrics for Upcoming Skirt Tutorials

I walked into Hancock Fabrics last Thursday knowing exactly the fabric I needed to complete an order.

This was not the fabric I needed when I went in, but it was the fabric that I needed when I left.  🙂

Ava Vezite for Fabric Innovations "Ivory Cost"

No information except "Copyrighted" on selvedge. But I did see this at Wal-Mart, too.

This next fabric is my favorite!  The flowers start small at the top and then get really big by the end.  Minimize me, puh-lease!

No information on this one either. Is there a rule I don't know about in the fabric industry?

So from there my husband suggested we cruise Hobby Lobby.  I have a terrific husband!  This is what we scored at Hobby Lobby:

From the selvedge -- Printed in China, 2007 Brother Sister Design Studio

LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE

This fabric!

Sew now! Sew wow! The Alexander Henry Fabrics Collection 2008

 Then my heart skipped a beat when I saw this fabric.  Images of complimenting Mommy and Me skirts pulsed before my eyes.  It was like I was in the old-school Chuck E. Cheese tunnel, strobing my way into a seizure.  We are going to look so cute together!  (Who is this person, and what have you done with the real Melinda?!)

Must be same people -- no markings

The way I like to work my wardrobe is to pair solids with pattern skirts.  But I can NEVER find shirts that meet my modesty guidelines.  Even the ugly ones feel the need to reveal boobs, maybe to compensate for the ugly fabric/style?  I don’t know either.  Regardless, I found a stash of shirts on clearance at Wal-Mart that are perfect for me after about 10 minutes of modification.  I am gearing up for a tutorial on this, too.  Can’t wait!  But I have to, which means that you have to, too.

I am also preparing a tutorial for my first experience with sewing with a pattern.  My first attempt resulted in this:

Thrilled with this skirt! But it's not what I started out to make.

It was supposed to look like the pink one at bottom left below.  The tutorial will cover where I went wrong.  Hint:  measure twice, cut once.

I have also got some on-line skirt tutorials that I am going to try out, but some of them will need to be lengthened.  I will provide links back to the original posts during each tute.

Have a tute you’d like me to try?  Just leave the link in the comment below for consideration.

Sometimes, being a minister’s wife means having to make your own clothes.  Being a modest one means that you pretty much HAVE to.  I can do it!

Check out my Modern Modesty skirt tutorials for your wee ones.

2 thoughts on “Modern Modesty – New Fabrics for Upcoming Skirt Tutorials

  1. I am enjoying your enthusiasm about sewing. I never enjoyed sewing exactly, but I wanted to so badly. Sewing was more about conquering a challenge and the satisfaction of completing a project. It became cheaper for me to buy on clearance than to try to find affordable fabric to please me. I like the “notions” print the best, too.

Leave a Reply

