Bold and Unashamed

I had a great response to my post yesterday, Personal Guidelines for Modesty, not only in page views but in the depth and the heart left behind in each comment.  Thank you for sharing on your blogs, with your friends, and with me!

The recurring theme in the comment section was concerning my boldness in addressing modesty.  So I want to take today to uncover the root of my “boldness”.

…that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be by life, or by death. — Philippians 1:20

What you need to zero in on here is “in nothing I shall be ashamed“.  Why are more Christians not as bold?  Is it, perhaps, because they are ashamed?

Have you not heard?

Whosoever therefore shall be ashamed of me and of my words in this adulterous and sinful generation; of him also shall the Son of man be ashamed, when he cometh in the glory of his Father with the holy angels. — Mark 8:38

Let’s look at a scenario:

You’re in a room full of people.  A guy comes in with a gun and says, “If you say you love Jesus, I’ll kill you.”

When I present this scenario to friends/miscellaneous people, everybody is so quick to say, “Yeah, buddy, I’d stand up in a heartbeat!  I love Jesus!”  (I’m from East Texas, so that’s how people talk ’round these here parts.)

If you’re too ashamed to stand up for Him when no one even has a gun to your head, what makes you think you would stand up for him in a high-stress/probable death situation?

I’ve been in churches that are full of people who are ashamed to worship Jesus.  They’re afraid of what others would think if they {gasp} raised their hand in worship, let alone both hands.  One hand might be okay, but two?  I’m sorry, God, but that’s just a bit too risky.  I can get excited at the local football game, but I’m not supposed to get excited about You.

If you’re too ashamed to worship or think that church is a place to be reserved, how are you going to bow down before Him, crying “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty!”

On a second note, this is a Christian blog.  Shouldn’t we be able to speak freely with each other?  If you are lacking a boldness in The Word, then start today by taking authority.  One thing that helps with boldness is having faith, knowledge, and a true understanding of God’s word.

So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God. — Romans 10:17

If you go to church, then hopefully your pastor is leading you deep into God’s word, teaching you God’s original intent of the scripture, not his own personal interpretation of the Bible.  If you currently do not have a church family, then you can always pursue Bible study on your own.  Focus on the Family, David Jeremiah, Family Life Today, and Kay Arthur are all great places to start.  They have daily broadcasts and podcasts that cover a vast range of topics.  One of my favorites is Janet Parshall.  She shines a bright light on politics and government from a Christian standpoint.

There’s one last thought that I want to leave with you.  (I’m going to insert a variable here for church affiliation.)  Just because your grandparents were X denomination, and your parents are X denomination, and so now you take your family to X denomination, and then y’all all have Sunday dinner together and yada yada yada doesn’t mean that X denomination is correctly applying God’s word in their teaching.  Some denominations used to line up with God’s word but have since strayed greatly in their teachings.  God gives certain criteria for the ministry.  Make sure that the ministry in your church lines up with it.

Bibles are everywhere.  On your phone.  On the internet.  Downloadable.  $10 at a Bible book store.  $2 at Goodwill.

You are responsible for verifying that the teaching you are submitting yourself and your family to is accurate.

Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.–2 Timothy 2:15

I welcome your comments, whether you agree or agree to disagree.  As a minister’s wife, my goal is to learn everything I can about how today’s people  view  Christianity.  It’s not going to change my view, but it will give me more knowledge to give better counsel.  I’m in the people business, so I need to study on people.  You can always contact me privately at mama_melly_martin at yahoo dot com, if public commenting isn’t your thing.

Thank you for taking time out of your day to read along with me.

2 thoughts on “Bold and Unashamed

  1. Pingback: Personal Guidelines for Modesty « Musings of a Minister's Wife

  2. Pingback: Is Your Church a Museum or a Hospital? « Musings of a Minister's Wife

Leave a Reply

