No Alice Here

The amount of money that people spend on annuals (they only last one season) astounds me.  My husband knows that I prefer a rose bush over a bunch of cut roses.  Jacob’s coat is my favorite.

Musings of a Minister's Wife Roses

I miss you, MawMaw!

However, I would much rather have some amaryllis bulbs.

Amaryllis Seductress

Or the red and orange tulips.  Just gorgeous!

Can you tell that I love red, orange, and yellow combos?

I hesitated at spending $10 on three elephant ear bulbs about five years ago, even though I knew they would not only come back but multiply. I can be frugal to a fault.

From those three bulbs have come over 300 elephant ears. And, yes, I counted! I dig them up each year and give some away or just spread them around the front of the house.

Last year I dug up an old four-o-clock bush from a property that was about to be razed. This year it gave me a bounty of seedlings that I distributed around my house.

Pink Four O'Clocks

This year, I was the beneficiary of approximately 100 canna tubers. I planted all that I could at my home, planted some at a friend’s home, and gave the rest away. Here are some pictures from these beautiful plants. Grasshoppers get the artistic credit for the last two photos.

Musings of a Minister's Wife Canna Lily

Stunning!

Musings of a Minister's Wife Canna Lily

Was he eating from right to left or from left to right?

Musings of a Minister's Wife Canna Lily

Nom Nom Nom

I spent $1 on a packet of morning glories.

Musings of a Minister's Wife Morning Glory

Morning's Glory

Musings of a Minister's Wife Morning Glory

Twisted Sisters

Musings of a Minister's Wife Morning Glory

Ha! They're not pink after all!

Daffodils are another wonderful bulb, but I just got started with those this year. However, is a picture I took of my daughter at an abandoned farm house with a yard full of daffodils.

Musings of a Minister's Wife Daffodils

Uh-oh! It's an Alice!

I did buy a lovely hibiscus tree, but I’m sad to say that the grasshoppers keep eating all of my buds.  And they were so lovely!  Suggestions?

I think it's called Apricot Blush.

When and if I ever get settled again, I think I’m going to try out dahlia’s.  I saw a great article in this month’s issue of Southern Living.

Evolution is a lie! Only God would have taken such care with a flower.

Note: My personal photos are the canna lillies, the ones with the girl child, and the morning glories.

Leave a Reply

