Day 5 — Stop Living in the Noise

If what you are doing is God’s will, God will take care of you.  God will provide.  God will give you peace.  But the kicker here is that you have to be submissive to God in order to be in His will.  He is not going to force His will on you.

After what happened Wednesday (keep reading), I told my husband that I am giving up on making any plans, because God’s already got everything planned out.  I just need to seek Him.  I need to be still and know that He is God.

If you block out all of your other distractions and just listen for God, you will hear God’s orchestration all around you.  It’s like listening to music.  If you are just listening to the music over the radio, you really are missing out on the fullness of the music.  So many things can get in between you and the music.  But if you put on a pair of headphones (noise-canceling if you got them) and just lie down in bed with your eyes closed, you will be able to really hear the music the way the musicians intended for you to hear it.  You can single out the instruments.  You can hear the voice-overs.  You can hear the extra little cymbal on the drums, the run down the bass, the tambourine keeping rhythm.  You can tap into what you’ve been missing out on all along.

That is what God wants you to do with Him.

The headphones are not sound-canceling.  They are noise-canceling.  “Noise” is anything that is undesired.  I have been in a state of listening, and I wonder how I lived in so much noise before.

God has called us to New Boston, TX.  Our family’s outlook is if there is a same-faith church in New Boston, then we need to go that church.  We don’t believe in driving past one church to get to another.  So I got on Google and found that there was indeed a same-faith church listed for New Boston.  I called and left a message.  After a week, I still had not received a call back.

I spoke with my husband on Tuesday and asked him if he had found the church.  He said that there was not a same-faith church in New Boston and that the internet must have been wrong.  That meant that we would have to drive 20 miles to the nearest church.  Argghhh!  I am tired of driving 30 minutes to church!  I wanted to be close to our new church.

On Wednesday, I received a phone call from the pastor of the New Boston church.  He explained why the church had been closed recently but that he was starting the church again.  He’s just been waiting on the water to get hooked up.  We chit-chatted for a bit.

I told him that Jimmy was staying in the RV park there in New Boston.  And so was he.

I said that Jimmy rides a Harley.  And so does he.

My husband’s from Louisiana.  And so is he.

Turns out that he needs a piano player.  I happen to know a girl.  She’s not perfect, but she can get us by.

He said that there are hook-ups at the church, and we can move the motorhome there, which will save us some money.

He’s been praying for God to send him some help.  He has a vision for this church.  And so does He.

God wants to be in control.  He wants to order your steps.  What are you waiting for?  Your words say that you trust in God.  Your actions say that you trust in yourself.   Stop living in the noise!

Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth. — Psalm 46:10

3 thoughts on “Day 5 — Stop Living in the Noise

    • Krista, I was thinking about this last night. And do you know that twice in the last two months that God has given us back what we paid in tithes? Just some food for thought. You know the old story–we didn’t have the money to give, but we gave. And God blessed us.

      Thank you to those who were a part of that blessing!

Leave a Reply

