The Journey of Motherhood and Ministry

Yesterday (Tuesday) I was cleaning out the van.  I know where Jimmy Hoffa is buried, and it ain’t at the 50 yard line.  At the end of my workout, I pulled one last sheet of paper off the front floorboard.  One, small, endearing piece of paper.

My son, my sweet first-born who loves me to the moon and back, who thinks I’m the most terrific mom in the whole world, who loves the way I smell, the 9-year old boy who still holds my hand wrote seven little letters that made my day.  It made my day because they were used to fill in a very special blank.

Now, after the whole spilled milk episode, being the Proverbs 31 woman has been on my heart.  I love when God gives me confirmation that I’m on the right track.  I was so proud of myself!  Just to make sure, I asked him if his Sunday School teacher had told him whose name to write there.  He said no and that he thought of me when he read it.

Fast-forward to the real world (aka Wednesday at 2 p.m.):

Gigi is thirsty and would like some tea.  I pour her some tea.  She takes the tea over to the computer.  I ask her (mostly nicely) to please bring the tea back to the table so that she won’t spill it.  She complies.  I get back to work cleaning the kitchen.  At some point, she decided she had had enough of complying and apparently took the tea back to the computer.  I say “apparently” because when she spilled it, it was at the computer desk.  But I didn’t throw anything this time.  I addressed the issue and suggested that she go play in her room for a bit.  I really was trying to be nice and calm about the episode.  I checked on her, and she was lying in bed.  I told her that she wasn’t in trouble and that she could get up and play.  She eventually found her way back to the kitchen table so that she could draw and color.  Within a few minutes, she brings me a picture she had drawn.


And this is what she says:

This is you mad (points to figure on far left).  This is you saying “Go away” (points to figure in the middle).  This is me sad and spilled tea on the floor (points to figure on far right and the dark spot on the floor.)

Let’s break the photo down a bit more:

  • See those three “x”s at the top of the page?  We homeschool and she knows that “x”s mean “not good”.  So here we have “not good, not good, not good”.
  • Figures one and two have their hands on their hips.  (The big fat body is completely unintentional, I’m sure.)
  • Figure two has her face completely blacked out.
  • Figures one and two are both me.
  • The size of the spilled tea is much, much larger than what it really was.  This tells me that it was a really big deal to her.

I immediately pick her up and hug her and apologize.

Even though I was calm and controlled on the outside, she evidently picked up on what I was really feeling on the inside.

I then spent a large portion of my afternoon doing more study on the Proverbs 31 Woman.  I found so much fantastic information that I am going to do a 3-week series of posts on what I found.  Even if you don’t benefit from it, I will and I need to!

By the time she spilled her orange juice while at the kitchen table after church this evening, I had no harsh words or feelings toward her.  She never spills her drinks, and so for this to happen three times in three days leads me to believe that it happened for a reason.  At this point in my life, I have stopped believing in coincidences where God is concerned.

Motherhood is my first ministry. 

While Jace seems to have no doubt that I am the embodiment of the Proverbs 31 Woman, I have a dainty little girl that requires a different approach.  She’s got the biggest brown eyes that stare straight into my very soul.  I’ve got to be so careful about what she sees in there.

Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. — Psalm 51:10

At the end of the day, my children are not getting their primary example from their friends, from their Sunday School teacher, from the prayer warriors at church.  I have the most influence on them.  They are going to judge Christianity by my actions.  It is essential that I keep myself in check, that I keep myself prayed up.  I know that I can’t be perfect all of the time, but I could definitely make more of an effort to do better.  They are worth it!

9 thoughts on “The Journey of Motherhood and Ministry

  1. When I read this, I wanted to cry. It reminded me of when I was a little girl, spending time at my grandparents house. We were sitting at the table, eating, when I spilled my glass of milk. The harshness that I got from my grandmother is something I will never forget. On the other hand, the look of forgiveness that I got from my grandfather will never be forgotten either. Our children, and likewise, our grandchildren, never forget the way we react in situations. I have really been thinking about this lately. Will my children live for and love God because they saw that love through me, or will they turn from God because they didn’t like what they saw in me? Hopefully it will be the first and not the latter. We only have one chance at this. I want my boys to be able to look at me, and see the forgiveness in my eyes.

  2. So as I was JUST finished reading this, Zoe spilled her portion of a $3 can of ice tea. Coincidence? I think not. Lol. This article brought a lot of conviction I am often too quick to yell when they misbehave or fight with each other (which is at least 50% of the time). Def made me stop before I yelled at her for spilling the tea.

    • Melissa, I really wonder how Mom isn’t crazy after raising 5 kids. She was always gentle with us. Not that she didn’t spank us, but I never remember her being harsh with us like we are with our children. Every day is a learning experience for me around here. God seems to be on a roll lately! Love you!

  3. When I read this, I got tears in my eyes also. It really shows that you are doing a great job Sis. Melinda. Keep on raising your babies like you are. Don’t let the devil rob you like I did. All of my children are gone now but I do believe they remember all the times I took them to church and tried to raise them right.

    Being a backslider really hurts when you look at others who are in there doing what you use to do.

    Love and Prayers.

    Sis. Jeanette

    • Sis. Jeanette,

      You ain’t dead yet, girl! We are still praying for and with you! Today is a new day. I remember all of the times the Holy Ghost was so strong upon you (and Jessica). The devil is fighting hard to keep you, because he knows that you could be a mighty warrior for God. Fight the good fight. It’s never too late! I love and miss you and your beautiful girls!

  4. this really made me cry. too often we forget how sensitive and pure their little hearts are and how easily they get corrupted and steered in the wrong direction if we are not mindful in not just telling them what to do but being an example. i am really having to work on my temper and anger whenever mine do something. God is working on me – I just wish I’d allow Him more and get myself out of the way more often rather than let my emotions take over and flip.
    Great post!!!!

    • Did you read the “proverbs 31 woman encounters spilled milk”? lol — Little white church shoes bounce when they’re flung against the wall. It’s funny now, but it so wasn’t funny then!

      We are all a work in progress! Especially me!

      • yeah i did read it. feel like im stalking you at the moment haha. I’m all over your posts on fb and here and just keep reading more and more lol
        i share the same views on skirts, hair, submission to hubby etc so it’s just really encouraging to read your posts, blogs etc 🙂

Leave a Reply

