Italian Lemon Ice Granita

I am in no way dissin’ making popsicles out of Kool-aid, but sometimes you just want a little bit more out of life.  You want to feel accomplished.

Usually, I get to enjoy a bit of kitchen success every day, because we are a rare breed of family that still has sit-down dinners around the table without the TV on.  But without my husband home, I really haven’t felt like devoting much time to a nice meal.  A grown man who works hard at providing for his family all day appreciates a good meal with cold tea.  Three kids under the age of 12 appreciate Italian Lemon Ice Granitas.  And so do I!

I ran across a recipe in a magazine two weeks ago for slushes, and I have looked everywhere and can’t find it.  Google, my trusty companion, was at my aid, though, and we turned up this recipe.  I’m just going to copy and paste it here with a couple of my own photos and notes.  I had grand visions of photoing every step, but that quickly fell by the wayside.  So what you get instead is kind of like a before and after.

Here is the before.

Ingredients:

    • 3 cups water
    • 1 cup sugar
    • 1 pinch salt (pinch=less than 1/8 tsp)
    • 1 cup fresh lemon juice ( juice of about 6 medium lemons)
    • 1 1/2 teaspoons finely grated fresh lemons, rind of ( about the peel from 1 medium lemon)
    • 2 teaspoons lemon extract

Here are my notes on what I did:

  • The recipe calls for 6 medium lemons.  I only had two, so I supplemented with the bottled lemon juice.
  • Since I had to use the bottled juice, I read over the short list of ingredients.  Lemon oil was also listed, so I cut my extract back to 1 teaspoon.
  • My suggestion is to use a 2-cup measuring cup, because you will be adding the grated lemon rind and the extract to the lemon juice.

Here are the original directions:

  1. Combine 2 cups of the water with the sugar in a medium nonreactive saucepan; bring to a simmer over medium heat.
  2. Cook, stirring constantly, until the sugar is completely dissolved.
  3. Add the salt, stir, and remove the pan from the heat.
  4. Stir in the remaining water and let cool to room temperature.
  5. Cover and refrigerate for a minimum of 1 hour.
  6. Meanwhile, place a shallow metal 2 1/2 qt container (such as a large cake pan) in the freezer to chill.
  7. Add the lemon juice, lemon peel, and extract to the chilled sugar mixture; stir until well blended.
  8. Pour into the chilled metal pan.
  9. Place the pan in the freezer for 30-60 minutes, or until ice crystals form around the edges.
  10. Stir the ice crystals into the center of the pan and return to the freezer.

This hit the spot!  I sat outside and ate  mine, and the mosquitoes ate me.  But I didn’t mind sharing.  Hopefully they sucked all the sugar out.  I’ll be making this again, but I want to try it with Splenda.  If I ever get around to that, I’ll post a follow up comment.

If you’re into looks and presentation, then buy the biggest lemons you can find, scrape them out after juicing, and scoop the lemon ice treat into the hollows.

If easy-clean up is your thing, then buy disposable cups and spoons.

If you’re into “Save the Planet”, you’re on the wrong blog.

Enjoy!

The after.

3 thoughts on “Italian Lemon Ice Granita

Leave a Reply

